PDA

View Full Version : Solid system for learning the fret board

hatchet
09-30-2011, 12:30 PM
Hi All,
The Uke is my first fretted instrument, and I'm finding myself frustrated. I'd like to learn the fret board, in terms of notes and chord construction, so that I can get to a point where I just know what I'm doing. I picked up the Hal Leonard Fretboard Roadmaps for uke, but am even more frustrated from that - the movable chord construction, I mean c'mon, I only have 5 fingers. I don't think I could ever reliably hit a E7#9#5 chord in a song situation.

So, am I just being a cry baby over this? Or is there a better way to learn the music theory, fretboard, and chord progression?

Thanks!

ramone
09-30-2011, 02:54 PM
I'm new to ukes but have played music for many years. to learn the fretboard, study and memorize which note corresponds to each fret on each string. it's easier than it sounds!

for chord constructon, the first thing is to learn the major scale. each step of the scale can be numbered 1-7 with step 8 being the octave of the first note. from that, you can learn chord basics. a major chord is made up of the 1st, 3rd & 5th notes of the major scale. in the key of C, that would be C-E-G. in the key of C, an F chord would be 4-6-8 (F-A-C).

any chord in the key of C can be constructed by starting with any of the notes, then adding every other note, as in the examples I used. to make other chords, like a 7th or a 9th, etc, add an additional interval. when the numbers exceed the eighth step of the major scale, simple subtract 7. so a 9th chord (9-7=2) is really adding the second step of the major scale to the notes in the chord, but an octave higher. a 13th chord is constructed by adding a 6th above the octave (13-7=6).

hope that helps and wasn't confusing. keep plugging away and it begins to make sense. good luck and have fun!

Trinimon
09-30-2011, 03:09 PM
Have a go at Uncle Rods Ukulele Boot Camp. It helped me quite a bit.