What strings do you hate?

Gadzukes!

Reaction score
Everyone talks a lot about the strings that they love (Worth, Aquila, Freemont), but I'm curious if there are any brands that are generally considered to be not worth experimenting with?

Save a fellow some cash. :)

I think it's mostly matching specific strings with a particular ukulele. Aquilas seem great on my mahogany ukuleles but the same Aquila strings sound 'thin' on the spruce top. Hilo strings sound great on the spruce top and 'dull' on the mahogany ukulele. Playing style matters a great deal. Strumming with the nail versus finger tip makes a big difference.

I'm not an expert on this and I only play baritones.

I don't hate them yet, but I'm becoming increasingly dissatisfied with the Worth Clear low-G. I've replaced them, thinking that maybe Worth made a bad batch. I've played around with the tension, i.e. putting a tenor string on a concert and vice versa but they all sound the same. Dull.

I think it's mostly matching specific strings with a particular ukulele.

I'm finding this to be true with my ukes, due to their construction (as in, it wouldn't make as much difference on a solid body as acoustic). My Boulder Creek sounded thin and weak with the Aquilas, but has more life now with the D'Addarios that I put on it. Conversely, my Recording King Resonator sounded okay with Aquila Nylguts, sounded too dark with the Kala Reds (the low G played a part too), and now is settling in with the more mellow Aquila Bionylons.

Two strings that I don't plan to buy again for my ukes are : Kamaka (D'Addario) black strings and Kala Reds.
Some folks love these strings but they did not get me the sound I wanted.

And yeah, no more Bionylons for me either.

LA BELLA - I tried a tenor set, and hated it. They have a wound 3rd (C), which felt quite barb-wirey, and the A string twanged because it was very thin..

Hate, is a word, too strong.