Finally came out of the closet tonight

dkcrown

UU+
Reaction score
Well I officially knocked off my last New Year's resolution tonight. I came out of the ukulele closet and played my first open mike night. I have been playing for almost three years and hardly play in front of my kids, let alone anyone else.

But I decided that tonight would be the night and stuck to it. There were about 30 people there and after a few scheduled bands played, I was the first to go. I played and sang the Bee Gees "I Started A Joke", a song that I have only been playing since last Saturday, and Tom Rush/Joni Mitchell's "Urge For Going." Everybody loved them. The response was fantastic. The bass player from the band that played before me joined in unexpectedly on both songs on his stand up bass. At first it caught me off guard a little, but as I settled in, it added a new dimension to my songs that I had never experienced before.

For those of you that have experienced what I did tonight, you know how empowering it is. :)

That rules, and playing with an upright- I have seen a Cello played like an upright with a uke that sent me, I bet your bit was AWESOME. Wishing there was video attached

Congratulations Dana!!! Brilliant stuff mate...funny how it's the thought and anticipation of these things that drains the nerves, but once you get up there it's so much fun. Rapt for you mate. The start of more public playing for you no doubt, and how awesome to have some bass behind you. Empowering, liberating, a real buzz. Looking forward now to a video brother... :)

Congratulations Dana!!! Brilliant stuff mate...funny how it's the thought and anticipation of these things that drains the nerves, but once you get up there it's so much fun. Rapt for you mate. The start of more public playing for you no doubt, and how awesome to have some bass behind you. Empowering, liberating, a real buzz. Looking forward now to a video brother... :)