My extremely noobie question...

beginnerukeman143

Reaction score
so im a horrible nail biter (yeah i know... crazy :D), and i was just wondering whether or not you had to have nails to strum... i can do a nice down stroke with my index finger (I'm left handed btw) but its the upstroke that sounds really.... I don't exactly know how to explain it, but it just doesnt give a very good sound... so any help would be appreciated :)

I have the same 'hobby', but managed to keep one nail out of the clear this month, the nail I strum with. But I use it only on downstrumming, for upstrumming I use the other side of my finger. I'm a noob as well, so I'm not sure this is the right technique, if there is one right technique that is.

I don't really think you need nails on the right hand to strum. Sometimes I cut my nails short and it sounds just fine. Matter of taste I guess.
But if you really want the type of sound you get from strumming with your nails and don't have the nails for it, I recommend Alaska fingerpicks. I use them on my banjo ukulele sometimes. They're quite cheap and come in three different sizes. You might want to adjust their length to your fingers by using a nail-cutter.
Happy strumming!

I don't use my nails at all to strum, down stroke-flesh of thumb, upstroke-flesh of index finger.

The so-called "proper" strumming technique is to downstrum using the nail of the index finger, and upstrum with the pad.

I say "so-called" because ultimately, whatever works for you is the best way to go. Then again, there is something to the idea that if all the experts, long-time players, and professionals recommend you do something a certain way, there is a reason for it.

I've found that my strums sound more clear when using the nail than some other way. No doubt it has to do with the fact that the nail is a hard material, which produces a more percussive and faster strike on the strings than flesh.