Ukulele made me a merchant adventurer man

fabioponta

Reaction score
I'm a teacher.
But,
since I knew the ukulele, just over a year and a half, I traded (bought and sold) many ukes and so many other things involving the ritual of playing ukulele, I can say that I became a merchant adventurer.
I never had problems with my almost 150 sales and purchases in that period (I always ask for photos, paypal payment and USPS shipping number), and living in Brazil, I've done business with luthiers and great people of Chile, the United States, Canada, England, Holland, Okinawa -Japan, Australia, China, and, of course, in all places in Brazil .

In this time I had to learn about shipping costs, customs fees, credit cards, currency conversion, paypal, costs of new and used instruments, etc...

Now I have 12 ukes, but between all the sales and purchases, I already have most of 60 ukes in my hands, the most cheap ukes.

I can say that before (or while) I became a ukeplayer, I became a dealer in everything that involves the ukulele.

I'm not as experienced in world trade as you Fabio...I think all of my ukes have come from with the US thus far. I have learned a good deal about shipping costs and have read about customs charges. The only international dealings I've had was I sent a ukulele to Australia and I'm getting a custom from a luthier in Canada.

I have had my hands on a lot of ukuleles...many high-end, lots of not-so-high-end. I would say the one avenue that the ukulele has opened for me has been custom instruments. Before I started playing ukulele, I never imagined I'd be enthusiastic enough about an instrument to commission a custom. I've since had 5 made for me (Boat Paddle, MP, Mya Moe, Monkey Wrench, Moore Bettah) with a 6th on the way (Luis Feu de Mesquita). I feel very fortunate to have had the opportunity to have played so many fine ukuleles in my 2 1/2 years playing.