Kamaka or Martin?

ChrisRCovington

Reaction score
Hello all,

I'm new to the forum so please excuse my silly questions. I've been playing ukuleles for a few years (rather poorly I might add) and have recently decided to upgrade a little bit. I am trying to stay in the $300 range and have always loved the look of Kamaka and Martin. This is what I am considering: 1. a new Martin S1 or 2. an old Kamaka off of ebay that might need some gentle restoration. I've noticed you can get Kamaka gold label or Keiki for the mid $200 range in okay shape. I could then send it off to the factory for a good clean up.

I really enjoy the Martins when I play them in the store. I got to play a few old Martins and they were *really* great! They made me sound better than I am! They are also a bit out of my price range right now. Do you think the new S1s will ever grow into that old Martin sound? On the other hand the Kamaka always seem to sound spot on, too. I've never played one though but really admire them. If I can get one for a good price and it only needs minor repair it could be a good ukulele upgrade for me.

Thoughts, opinions, advice? :)

Best regards,
Chris

Repeat after me... "Kamaka". Now again, with feeling, "KAMAKA"

A new S1 just isn't in the same ballpark acoustically to a vintage or new Kamaka or IMO, just about ANY comparable uke from Mainland, Mele, Ohana, or even Makai.

With me, it's either a newer model kamaka, new or used or a Martin vintage..no other way sorry...good luck and let me know what you get for your upgrade..Happy strummings...MM Stan
Buying new or used, I pick mine not by names but by their preformance.....play them and see if you personally like the sound and playability and comfort.. even the with top of the line
there are lemons..guess the more you pay the better the consistancy..but not always as each uke is individual as you and me..they all have their own voices, and they will tell you..:)