Aquila strings

UkesAreCool

Reaction score
I am getting an Electro-acoustic ukulele for christmas and I can't wait!
I would like to put some nice Aquila strings on it as I have heard one with them and it sounds really nice. My question is Can strings on an electro-acoustic ukulele be changed easily?

I have "west-side music centre" nearby, they have a workshop at the back where they work on guitars and I presume uke's as well because their shop is plastered with them. Do you recommend I go to them?

Any help is appreciated!
Cheers,
UkesAreCool

Hi, I'm new to the uke too. I just changed my strings for the first time last night (for Aquila strings as it happens), it was really easy & didn't take very long at all.

Hi, I'm new to the uke too. I just changed my strings for the first time last night (for Aquila strings as it happens), it was really easy & didn't take very long at all.
Was this an electro-acoustic ukulele?

You can easily change the strings yourself, you needn't go and pay to have someone else do it. Once you do it a few times, you'll be used to it and it'll be easy! It's really worth learning as changing strings is one of the cheapest and easiest ways to alter/improve the sound of your uke.

Here's a pretty good video on changing strings. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LwNDkh43oqc

Be aware that there are different types of bridges and different ways to affix the strings to the bridge. The way shown in this video is one of the more common methods.

There's no difference in changing strings on an acoustic, electric or electro-acoustic. As I mentioned, how you put the strings on is based on what style of bridge you have and your own preference.

Thanks Jamie, I think the one I like has this type of bridge so I might have a go at stringing it myself! If not I can always take it to my music teacher at school and ask him to have a go :D
Thanks for all your help!