Air-strumming

ukuhippo

Reaction score
I bought a Dolphin a couple of months ago, and am loving my first steps on uke-territory. Actually, my first steps on music-territory, as I have no musical background/training whatsoever.
One of the things giving me troubles is strumming. d-u-d-ud-u is all I could do. I have a busy job and family-life (and other activities), which keeps me from practising for more than 15 minutes daily.
The last two weeks I find myself air-strumming all day long. Walking to the supermarket, showering, walking from a to b (even when it's just a few meters): I air-strum. Must be the first symptoms of UAS.
My question is: is this off-uke-practising any good? Will it help me master strums better? Is anyone else doing the same thing?

Hmmm...don't quite know how to answer this one. To me, the most prohibitive thing is the lack of practice time WITH the instrument in your hands. You need to build the muscle memory in your fingers to form notes. I found that the strumming came a lot more naturally to me. The uke is my first stringed instrument I might mention as well.

Not that your air strumming can hurt anything, you just need to get that puppy in your hands more during the day. Take it with you (a dolphin is an easy travel companion) when you go to pick up the kids from school, and are waiting in the car for them. Or waiting at any kind of sports/dance practice. That could give you lots more pratice time. Enjoy this new adventure and take it for all you can. You will definitely develop a raging case of UAS. In the meantime, if you haven't already, take the dolphin to a good music shop, spend a little money and put good strings on it and have them put a good set-up on it. Maybe lower the action a little. Have fun!