Fingerpicking problems

ukuhippo

Reaction score
As you can read from different posts, I'm a newbie. I strum and fingerpick, and I realy like both.
One problem I have with fingerpicking is that I am able to produce a good sound with my thumb, but I'm having troubles producing a nice sound with my index- and middlefinger. Is there a good technique to do this? Should I be picking with my nails, or should I add more pressure with the fleshy side of my fingers? It just sounds dull with no volume, picking the same string with my thumb gives me the results I want.

Well I do not know the "correct" answer for this, or even if there is a "correct" answer. I have been at this for over a year and still consider myself a newbie. I use my nails to fingerpick, for the same reasons you mentioned.

I'm a newb as well,,i gave up on finger picking for the same reason and went to nylon picks. Consistent sound every time i strum or pick a string. Not to discourage you from finger picking just thought i would mention what worked for me.

Last edited:
Must. Grow. Nails.
I guess. Maybe pick up some fingerpicks. But I prefer to learn the more 'natural' way.

+1 on the nail growing. :)

The habit (biting) got worse once I quit smoking. I'm tempted to buy a pack of cigs to help me overcome my nail problem. But I won't.
Must. Grow. Nails.

Last edited:
What you are having trouble with is "technique." You need to watch some videos, watch a live player if you can, then practice, practice, until it's second nature. I practice my fingerpicking sometimes by muting the strings and just fingerpick while watching TV, etc. Works for me. Get's in some extra practice at developing finger/muscle memory. Go as slow as you need to to do it correctly. Bad habits sometimes hard to break.