PDA

View Full Version : Is there an alternative to b- flat?

addicted2myuke
11-06-2011, 01:32 PM
Ok, so I've been playing everyday for 7 months, and I have yet to master the b chords. Especially the b-flat. My fingers are of normal size, but barring the a and e string on the first fret is not producing much sound. Just a muted sound really. I keep reading that I will eventually master it, but I have serious doubts. If that chord weren't in almost every song I play, I wouldn't worry, but it is, and it is seriously affecting my ability to get good sound from my uke. I have a tenor Kala with Aquila strings. Is there another finger placement that will give me the same sound, or should I just try to muddle through and hope for the best? Thanks everyone who responds with words of encouragement.

elisdad
11-06-2011, 01:38 PM
You can bar the whole first fret with your first finger instead of the bottom two strings. That might be a bit more comfortable to play the B flat.

OldePhart
11-06-2011, 02:04 PM
You can bar the whole first fret with your first finger instead of the bottom two strings. That might be a bit more comfortable to play the B flat.
+1 on this. It will put more force on those E and A strings while feeling less stressful on your hand.

That said, you might also want to look at a setup. It's not unusuals for Kala ukuleles (and Lanikai, etc.) to be delivered with the nut pretty high. This makes it hard to barre chords at the first position and often affects intonation as well. Sometimes a chord sounds "weak" simply because the intonation is poor.

You should be able to fret each string at the first fret without it pulling measurably sharp. I.e. when the A string is dead on center open it should be dead on A# when fretted at the first fret and so on.

John

mm stan
11-06-2011, 02:07 PM