Why guitarists don't understand us...

Pete Howlett

Reaction score
At the show at the Cheltenham Acoustic Guitar Show this weekend I had a prime position. I saw loads of guys walking through trailing their wives/partners. You know the type - I'm a totally stunning guitarist, watch me as I try every guitar on your stand. The ladies would smile and walk over to my booth trailing their partners. My line - 'Why are you smiling?'. Their response: 'They are so cute!' By this time the husband/partner has caught up with them as I pick up and instrument ready to put it into their hot hands. And hey presto, you'd think I was handing them a steaming turd! Nearly everyone admired the workmanship but as guitarists, refused or struggled to play the humble ukulele. Boy am I glad I don't make guitars anymore - these guys were soooo boring.

Don't assume every guitarist knows how to play the ukulele, and don't look down on them for it! You're trying to sell ukuleles, right? The ukulele doesn't come off so humble when you only think of how great you are. You should encourage them! Maybe you could print out a large visible chord chart.

This whole mentality of "I'm humble, and you're not... so that makes me better than you" is completely hypocritical. Greet potential customers with care and understanding, and spread the love of ukulele.

pete,
chillax dude. relax and try to see things from anothers perspective

You know that there are people on this forum that like and play BOTH the Ukulele and the Guitar right? ( such as Aldrine, and Ryan to name a few )
Not every person is like the ones that you experienced.
I feel that we are all musicians, and/or lovers of music, and I think that it is good that we can come together like this.