PDA

View Full Version : Sawdust and white glue filler

Doug W
11-12-2011, 03:56 AM
Greetings,

I have used sawdust mixed with Elmer's glue in the past on some furniture refinishing projects. I am an amateur at furniture refinishing and more of an amateur at ukulele refinishing. The result in the past furniture projects was that the sawdust / glue area looked different than the surrounding wood and did not take stain or lacquer like the surrounding wood.

I am probably going to paint this particular uke a solid color after filling in the divots but I want to make sure it will take the paint in the repaired areas. Any advice would be appreciated.

BlackBearUkes
11-12-2011, 08:41 AM
Always use solid wood of the same type, color and grain direction for repairs and hide glue with it. Glue/wood dust combinations will never stain the same as the surrounding wood. If you are going to paint it, you can use practically anything.

ProfChris
11-12-2011, 11:37 AM
The closest colour match I've found for fixing divots (I've only made a dozen ukes, but fixed lots of divots in them!) is wood dust and CA glue. Light woods match less well than dark. Mahogany is visible but can be tolerable, dark rosewood can be near invisible.

Paint should work over pretty much any normal woodworking glue +dust. If you want the option of finshing with something clear, make up some test pieces and try them out with different glues to see how the colour goes.

mm stan
11-12-2011, 12:21 PM
Always use solid wood of the same type, color and grain direction for repairs and hide glue with it. Glue/wood dust combinations will never stain the same as the surrounding wood. If you are going to paint it, you can use practically anything.
Could you fill the gap with the wood putty (glue and wood dust) and sprinkle over it with wood dust to the wet putty so the stain will take to it?? or pre stain the putty??

BlackBearUkes
11-12-2011, 12:56 PM