Tenor or Bari?

arturo7

Reaction score
I'm getting ready to pull the trigger on a new instrument. I need help deciding on tenor or baritone. If I go with the bari I'll string it GCEA. Outside of the obvious size difference, what are some things to consider?

Thanks!

Well, of course, it's all a matter of opinion... but if you're asking for opinions, I'd go tenor. I have a baritone and I love it, but for me the deeper tone makes it more like a guitar than a ukulele. I already play guitar, so I've got that sound pretty well covered. I started playing on a concert, but ultimately found that a tenor was just more comfortable for me, and allowed me to play more intricate fingerstyle stuff without feeling like my fingers were getting all bunched up. But you'll find people here who are just as passionate about sopranos, or tiples or what-have-you. So there's no wrong answer; play what feels right!

Our preferences don't count.....it's what you like that matters......have you played a baritone..in GCEA??? try them both and decide then...

Tenor, no doubt!

between these 2 sizes , and if I could only have one, the tenor. I am blessed and have at least one in each size. hmm, except sopranino, and Eugene's Bambino looks pretty sweet.

I play my Low G GCEA Baritone the most, but my tenor gets a lot of action too. It really depends for me on what tune I am playing (t least that is what I told my wife when I NEEDED both)

If you're going to get into some complex finger picking stuff, then a baritone would suit that, my tenor kind of gets tricky some times when i play some Jake Shimabukuro.

What's your reasoning for going with a Tenor or a Bari vs. one of the other sizes?
Personally my preferred size is the Tenor, but I've also never played a Baritone. I have a Soprano and Concert and I like the sound of the Tenor plus the scale length. I find that the Tenor has just the right amount of that classic uke sound for me while still lending itself well to other playing styles.