PDA

View Full Version : Cigar box uke.

rem50
11-20-2011, 11:10 AM
i am going to try and build one. I have an old uke I ripped apart and want to put the neck on a cigar box. I have never done anything like this before so I will be asking lots of questions and posting pics as I go. I am hoping for lots of support from you seasoned builders. :) First question is what kind of box should I look for? Any specific characteristics it should have? Thanks Again for the help in advance! rem

Huna
11-20-2011, 02:59 PM
I've been making cigar box guitars. The novelty of them in my opinion is being electrified with a piezo. Also, they seem best to be 3 string instruments tuned to an open chord and used to play the blues. As far as boxes go, the bigger the better I think. Also I think using the back of the cigar box for the front of the instrument seems to work well because it is a bit thinner. The best way to play them is with a slide, not frets. This is where I am now anyway. I guess you could put a neck on a cigar box but most folks use a beam (the neck) through or on top of the box for the string tension, but they use steel strings. Maybe if you use nylon you won't have a tension problem but otherwise you will have to find some way to hold the stress. My ukuleles are louder than the cigar box guitars save for using an amp and or using steel strings and electrifying.

rem50
11-21-2011, 03:18 AM
do you have any pics of unassembled ukes so I can get an idea of what I am doing? I really have no idea but thought it would be a fun project. your ideas sound great. I would like to see some of your finished products.

wolfybau
11-21-2011, 03:30 AM
my brother made me a realy nice cigar box uke, and t has a thick top but still soudns good and plenty loud enough imo. it is nice to play with a lide too. it has nlon strings and a squareish neck so it is very versitile.