Returning to the uke after years off and need advice

Plonker

Reaction score
Hi all. Excuse the length of this, but I want to put my "problem" into a context and I wonder if anyone can help me?

I learned to play a ukulele when I was about six or seven in the early 1970s and haven't picked one up since, though I can still remember most of the chord shapes. I learned on a uke that was tuned to D (A, D, F sharp, B) though I read that for some time now they most popular tuning is to C (G, E, C and A). I don't see that as being an issue. I should perhaps point out that I have been playing rhythm and folk guitar for around 30 years.

I am returning to the uke. My amateur dramatics group is putting on Aladdin which includes the song Chinese Laundry Blues (Mr Wu) and I unwittingly let on that I used to play the uke. Suffice to say I am going to be doing it!

I have been to a couple of music shops and looked at ukes. I clearly need to practice, but I also need to find the right instrument in size and sound. Here are the issues/areas on which I could use some help.

1. Soprano seems very small for my fingers, though it might just be a case of getting reused to/readjusting. Maybe concert or tenor would be better?

2. When I try and play a bar chord such as E7 (D7 if tuned to C) I am damping the strings and it sounds truly awful. E flat 7 with a bar on the first fret is even worse! Basic chords such as D, D7, A7 and G are fine. Again, it may be a case of readjusting and practice, though I suspect I am trying to play a guitar bar and maybe need some advice on technique.

3. Would a ukulelebanjo be better? Or is there a ukulele that I could play exactly as I play a guitar? I have worked out an arrangement of the song for guitar and I can do this in alternative keys. I hope to adapt this to the ukulele but and I wonder if something I can play like a guitar would be better? This might be the quickest and easiest option.