Newbie or Oldbie?

Veteran or newbie?

• I started playing before the recent rise of the uke.

Votes: 10 17.9%
  • I started playing after the recent rise of the uke.

Votes: 23 41.1%
  • I helped CAUSE the recent rise of the uke.

Votes: 10 17.9%
  • Other.

Votes: 13 23.2%

• Total voters

Kem

Reaction score
This thread is a supplement to the "average age" one. I've often wondered how many people on this site self-identify as "veteran" uke players and how many see themselves as "new" uke players. So...were you playing the uke long before the relatively recent meteoric rise of the uke? Did you pick up the uke because of its trendiness or its sudden availability? Did a veteran influence you? Did another relatively new player influence you? Were you one of the people who caused the uke's ascendance?

One interesting aspect of the uke trend, as exemplified by the other thread, is that it has swept up people of all ages. However, this fact sometimes acts to disguise those uke players who have been playing the instrument all along...or else it may lead to the assumption in younger players that older players are veterans when they are, in fact, enthusiastic newbies.

I don't think it's really necessary to divide everybody into little categories; I'm just curious.

Thanks for the supplement poll as I started the other poll. Being new to the uke, I was hoping that the younger people would make the majority of the players and the popularity could continue as there's been waves in the past. However, it's good to know that uke is for all ages.

I think when you have "others" option, that will be the winner. Hopefully if people pick others, they will explain more in the thread.

I'm am old newbie, sort of. Started at age of 8 stopped and picked it back up 40 years later after a trip to Hawaii

Not sure when the recent "renaissance" started to be honest, but I started to play around about this time two years ago. I consider myself a newbie.