PDA

View Full Version : Making / replacing a bridge & saddle

vickersdc
11-26-2011, 07:21 AM
First off, I'm a fairly adept woodworker with a decent set of tools in the workshop.

Secondly, I know little about building ukes / guitars / stringed instruments.

So, here's my question(s)...

If I wanted to replace the bridge and saddle on my Makala Doplhin, what would I need to use? Why could I not use Oak for example to build the bridge? Or could I? I've also got a bundle of deer antler... could I make the saddle from that?

The intonation on the Doplhin is ever-so slightly out, resulting in a pitch that is about 20% off according to my tuner (the saddle needs moving closer to the 12th fret just a bit). I'm able to cut and mill accurately, so I wondered about just making my own bridge and saddle.

Thanks,
David.

Rick Turner
11-26-2011, 07:25 AM
Ring porous woods like oak and ash are rarely if ever used for making bridges. The usual choices are for dense woods with a bit of ring to them and in the case of rosewood, much smaller open pores, and in the case of maple (as with violin bridges) or ebony (lots of guitar bridges) virtually no visible pores at all.

vickersdc
11-26-2011, 07:31 AM
Ring porous woods like oak and ash are rarely if ever used for making bridges.

Thank you for the quick reply! I'm lucky enough to have a lot of different types of wood in the workshop, which would be ideal for the bridge... but might I ask why woods like Oak and Ash are not used? What is it about their characteristics that makes them unsuitable... which is another way of saying what is required from a wood to be used as a bridge?

David.

Allen
11-26-2011, 09:18 AM
If you're unsure if a wood is suitable for a bridge, you can try the "ping" test. Not very scientific but still not a bad way of determining a species suitability.