New to music

jrockz

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I am new to this community and it seems like a great community.

I've been watching a lot of ukulele songs and people playing it and I feel in love with the instrument.
It is affordable and it looks easy to learn.

I did a lot of research I just purchased my first ukulele as a beginner
(Lenikai LU-21T Tenor).

I am completely new to music and I don't have any musical
background. I read about scales, charts and stuff but I am so
confused when people try to teach them.

So my question is, what or how should I start to learn the Uke? I know I can just youtube a video and learn memorize an easy song.
But I want to be able to learn how to read cords so I can learn by
reading instead of by watching.

It would be awesome if someone can tell me what to do to start off
and learn.

Thank you all in advance for the help.

Thank you very much for the information.
I knew this was going to be a great place to be a part of!

When I said I didn't have any history of music I sort of lied. I cousin plays the guitar and 10 years ago I learned a song from Greenday (Time of your life/Good Riddance). I am pretty sure I played it wrong but it does sound a bit like it. HOWEVER, that was 10 years ago. I learned all of that by memory since it was a few cords over and over.
I know the basic strumming pattern down down up up down up down down...etc. But I was never able to sing and play at the same time lol.
Apart from that, I don't know how to read or anything so I hope this will help!

Thanks again.

When I said I didn't have any history of music I sort of lied. I cousin plays the guitar and 10 years ago I learned a song from Greenday (Time of your life/Good Riddance). I am pretty sure I played it wrong but it does sound a bit like it. HOWEVER, that was 10 years ago. I learned all of that by memory since it was a few cords over and over.