Deplenishing the uke fund...Yes we can

haolejohn

Reaction score
Hi. My name is Eller and I am a uke snob:)

I have been saving my money up to get me a custom ukulele (want a MB but will probably go with someone else since I am on a teacher's salary with a new baby and one income) and I had been saving up for 6 months. I literally didn't have very much money (above mentioned issues) but I had a fraction of what I needed. I had dwindled my stable of ukes down from a high of 15 to just two koalohas, one mele, one mainland,one kala, and two dolphins. Each of these ukes were kinda neccessary b/c of their multiple purposes (classroom uke, leanders, home uke, and church uke). But HoosierHiver aka mainland mike aka UWC mastermind offered up some blemished mainland ukes for the UU community. As I mentioned I had been saving up for a custom but as a teacher of little kids I get to see the joy and the impact that music and mainly the ukulele can make with small children.
I have been in a shuffle mode with my district. We have been hit very hard with the economy. So bad that we haven't had a full paycheck since 2009. I started a uke club at my first school and in two years had put a uke in the hands of over 70 students (3-5th graders). I got relocated since I was bottom man in the food chain. I was sent to a new school last year and planned on starting up a new uke club (had a fellow teacher take over the original club) but the wife and I discovered the joys of parenthood. As much as I love spreading the uke joy and being an ambassador of the ukulele I couldn't neglect my fatherly duties so I decided to postpone the uke club until this school year.