What does "Low G" mean, exactly?

mendel

Reaction score
I understand that a Low G string means that the G is strung an octave below normal, correct? My question is whether or not this changes the manner in which chords are fretted and notes are played while fingerpicking? Does it just change the sound, or does it change everything?

I understand that a Low G string means that the G is strung an octave below normal, correct? My question is whether or not this changes the manner in which chords are fretted and notes are played while fingerpicking? Does it just change the sound, or does it change everything?

I'm no expert but I think it just changes sound. I still play all my chords the same way and they sound the same but just a little lower. When I pick, I still pick the same strings and the only difference is the g sounds lower. Hope that helps. I also noticed that a wound low g is more lower sounding than an unwound low g.

Two things for me.

A low g sound gives you a steady deep base line like in IZ's rendition of somewhere over the rainbow.

And it's also good if you come from a guitar background where one is used to the strings being sequential.

But a reentrant g is great for the sweet uke sound.

So I keep all my ukes reentrant except for one tenor which is a low g, and i suppose closest to a guitar sound.

But other than that as far as chords, they will both sound fine with the same fingering but one will sound more like a uke the other one more guitar-ish...

Hope this, helps.

Can any size Uke have a Low G, or only Tenor size?

I had a student that loved my low g tenor so he strung his dolphin low g. I wasn't too keen on the sound but he was happy. I have seen people with low g concerts. Me personally stick with the tenor scale. I think the shorter scales sound a bit muddy with a low g.

Uhm intersting... I'm glad I picked a 2nd Tenor, as my low G uke, since it's closer to a guitar anyway.