I sent my down payment for a custom Devine ukulele

SuzukHammer

Reaction score
It will take some time, over a year waiting time - I'm ok with that because I'm still learning to play and I have assessed that ukulele is not a passing fad with me.

I spent roughly 2 weeks working with Eric on the design by email. My impression is he would have taken as long as it took to make me happy but still play to his strengths on building the uke.

My decision to go custom is because I wanted something special to play and something that would be worthy of handing down to my son at some time. This proud father foresees a young boy who will catch my same ukulele affliction. We'll see.

Hopefully during the process Eric will share some of the pictures like we've been treated to other builds. I enjoy those.

I'll get the specs up once I return from eating breakfast and playing some morning uke on the Collings.

I am very excited that one day I'll have a Devine uke.

I am planning to go to the Thailand Ukulele Festival and found out Eric Devine will be there with a sample uke so that would be great to try a Devine and meet the luthier.

Congratulations on a major commitment! I think the long gestation period is actually a positive part of the whole experience. The anticipation and painstaking process adds to the value of what will clearly become an heirloom musical instrument.

It will take some time, over a year waiting time - I'm ok with that because I'm still learning to play and I have assessed that ukulele is not a passing fad with me.

I spent roughly 2 weeks working with Eric on the design by email. My impression is he would have taken as long as it took to make me happy but still play to his strengths on building the uke.

My decision to go custom is because I wanted something special to play and something that would be worthy of handing down to my son at some time. This proud father foresees a young boy who will catch my same ukulele affliction. We'll see.
Aloha Frank,