The Uke as a living, breathing, sexual being???

Status
Not open for further replies.

mendel

Reaction score
I was speaking to the Band Director at the high school I teach at. As I have mentioned before, I teach at my alma mater, and the Band Director there was my teacher when I was a drummer in high school. We were talking about music the other day and he said something that was really interesting, albeit, a bit sexist.

He said that he views instruments like women. He said that when he picks up a horn or a fretted instrument to play it, he considers it like he is putting his hands on a beautiful woman and the way he plays the instrument is his attempt to make it erupt in a powerful orgasm. He then showed me a video of Jake playing Bohemian Rhapsody that I have watched countless times and said "Do you see how he makes the instrument scream out? Do you see how he caresses it and makes it whisper in tongues? That is what a musician is supposed to do. He is supposed to make the instrument seem like it loses control in the throes of ecstasy."

Until then, I had never heard someone speak so passionately about music. It was certainly an odd conversation, and I am not sure if others would agree with him, but his point of view was really interesting to me. I wanted to share it with you all and get your points of view on this? Is he completely crazy, or does he have a point?

Mendel

he plays the instrument is his attempt to make it erupt in a powerful orgasm. He then showed me a video of Jake playing Bohemian Rhapsody that I have watched countless times and said "Do you see how he makes the instrument scream out? Do you see how he caresses it and makes it whisper in tongues? That is what a musician is supposed to do. He is supposed to make the instrument seem like it loses control in the throes of ecstasy."

Well, now I understand why people always recommend wiping down the uke after you play it.

I thought of Swiss Toni as well! :D