handtools for ukulele building

bert

Reaction score
i play the ukulele as a hobby and figured out i want to build my own since there are no luthiers here in luzon,philippines that do ukulele and there are tons of mango and mahogany lumbers at the back of our house

i just wnt to ask what handtool is used to make the thin topboard (is this term correct?) of the ukulele out from a 2.5x2.5x2 (ft) piece of lumber

powrtools not an option i cant buy them and i dont care if it takes me a year to cut that topboard

also, can papertree be used for ukuleles/guitars?

p.s. im totally new to this luthier-ing, and the lumber has been air-dryed already

I've been using a japanese kataba pull saw to cut 1/8" slices from stock that is about 4" thick. It took me a while to get the hang of it, but I've gotten a few decent pieces. I then sand these pieces to make them thinner. Make sure you get as close to quarter sawn as possible.

What's a Papertree? An instrument can be made with Mahogany, Koa, Rosewood, pallet wood, cigar box Spanish Cedar, or just about any medium density hardwood. You can also use softwood (Spruce, Cedar, etc) for the Top but it's not traditional.
In addition to the saw the simplest and least expensive hand tool you need is a Card Scraper for smoothing. Other tools I would use are Handplanes if you aren't sucessful getting a smooth surfice with the saw. A Stanley #5 for inital leveling work, #4 for finish work and a Block plane for end grain. A way to sharpen them will also come in handy.
Good luck!

thank you so much for the replies

about the paper tree, my mom always called them papertrees but i think they are asian paperbark birch or something close to that. The lumber of the "papertree" is white and as equally heavy as a same sized mahogany lumber