Have you accomplished any of your uke goals?

ItsAMeCasey

Reaction score
Hey guys, just thought this would be an interesting topic. When I first started playing the ukulele, I watched a video of Jake S. playing his song "Third Stream", and I thought to myself that there's no way in heck I'd ever learn it. Well I'm attempting to learn the song right now, and if I do manage to get it down it would be like accomplishing my biggest uke goal. So, what have you guys done on the uke that you never thought possible?

I started playing the ukulele because it was unknown in my area and i wanted to show what it could do. Nowadays, there have been a lot of people trying to start up the ukulele after my performances.

I had one goal when I started playing: having fun. Yes, I accomplished my goal. The rest is just a bonus.

Built a uke I'm proud of, so yep :)

Nice. That is definitely a key, if you cant have fun with it... then is it really for you? I know when I was first learning it was a bit of a drag at times because it was the same thing over and over again, sit with a chord sheet basic strum playing the chords one after another until they became solid. Now I find myself trying to get fancier. The main project I am looking at doing now is a project for the late Lopaka Akui Young who passed away a few short days ago. He was one of the first people to truly touch the uke part of my soul and it is a shame to see him go.'

Absolutely.

When I picked up a uke of my own, my goals were simple:

1. Enjoy myself
2. Become comfortable enough to strum basic songs without error
3. Discover whether this was something I wanted to continue and grow with.