Check Out This Myrtle

aaronckeim

Reaction score
http://www.myamoeukuleles.com/bodyShop.html

Working with Gordon and Char I am lucky to be around so many amazing pieces of domestic woods. This board is a perfect example. We have a few different suppliers who save us the unique stuff, cause we love sap wood, color variants, un-even curl, worm holes, etc... All of these defects make it fun and customers get a unique piece.

Not to say we don't also use straight grain and even, symetrical curl. We just like the unique stuff too.

I subscribe to MyaMoe on Twitter and have seen quite a number of these unique builds done with outrageously figured woods. Even when I was making veneered furniture for a living I would have been wary of using them. At the risk of seeming critical, tho I salute MyaMoe's bravery for going this route and at first sight these instruments look great, I strongly suspect you are storing up problems for the future.

To put this in perspective:
I have a writing box that I made over 25 years ago from a solid piece of English Walnut feather curl - that is the curl right at the centre of the crotch. It's about the size of a tenor top and looks sensational. However, instaed of creating a fielded panel and fitting it into the top unglued as should have been the practice, I glued it into a rebate. Now, only the coners are fixed to the rebate - the rest has shrunk away in an even curve from the corners... I finished it with vaseline - a great finish for walnut. The actual surface looks like a plougherd field now it has sunk and risen over time. I also have a small koa terz guitar part built with a huge curl across the centre of the back. This acts like a hygrometer and indicates the minutest fluctuations in humidity by swelling or shrinking at this point.

You may get lucky - I hope so.

Nadilog hapus