How do I know if my nut is too high?

addicted2myuke

Reaction score
I've been playing my tenor Kala for 8 months. I practice everyday for 1-2 hours. For the life of me, I cannot get much of a sound when I barre the first fret. The B-flat in particular. I have read other posts on this difficult chord, and I have tried positioning my index finger in different positions with no luck. I'm thinking of going to my local luthier and asking him to lower the nut. I have aquila strings on it, and after playing for a couple of hours, my index finger is pretty torn up in spite of the callous that has formed. How low should the nut be in order to barre the first fret easier? I measured it, and it measures 2/16ths. of an inch high. Does that seem normal. I am desperate, as this chord is holding me back from being able to play so many songs. Thanks for your answers.

As tempted as I am to make a smart ass comment on the title, the general rule of thumb is that you should be able to put a business card between the first fret and the string with slight toughing. I would recommend taking it to a music shop that does set up and have them tweek it. It cost me $15 and made a world of difference in playing ease.

Good Luck