Ukulele setup....

Boosted

Reaction score
Since Im new to ukulele's, I have been reading and learning a lot from this website and forum. Thank you to all the members who have contributed. Hopefully someday I will be able to contribute some useful information as well....that being said, I have a question for you experts.

What my options for setup on my new uke? I am in Everett, Washington and I cannot find any local music stores that specialize in ukulele's. Should I look into sending it somewhere to be properly setup?

Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated...

Thanks, Bill

I am in Everett, Washington and I cannot find any local music stores that specialize in ukulele's.

Even if a music store "specializes" in `ukulele, doesn't mean they know how to properly setup instruments. A local luthier will probably have the knowledge to do it correctly, but he just needs to realize that this is a different instrument than what he/she may be used to. Still, the basics of a proper setup remain the same.

-Aaron

I'm not an expert, but what make/model uke did you get? I, for example, would not hesitate to try some basic setup adjustments on my laminate uke, but almost definitely not on my solid koa uke. If you are even moderately handy with certain basic tools, there are discussions here that provide detailed how-to instructions on most aspects of a uke setup.

It depends on what needs to be done, but if you include shipping to & from a non-local luthier, you're talking about $40-50. That might be worth it on a $200+ uke. But on a $100 uke I'd probably seriously consider simply buying another uke from a seller that will do a proper setup. Just some thoughts.

What Drew said. If it's an inexpensive Dolphin, LU-21, or the like - have at it using one of the excellent tutorials. If, on the other hand, it's a uke that cost a few hundred then you might be more cautious.