Formula 1 concept ukulele

thehappyukulele

Reaction score
A concept ukulele. Semi-hollow, thin-body, fat-bottom, flat-top, electric tenor in padauk and curly maple. Body is just 2 inches at its thickest point. Sides and back were carved from a single piece of wood so the waist is very tight. Entire body is rounded on the back so it is extraordinarily comfortable to hold against you. K&K Sound passive pickup.

F1_01.jpgF1_02.jpgF1_02a.jpgF1_02b.jpgF1_03.jpg

Too cool!!!

It is beautiful... but what does it sound like, played acoustic?

-Kurt​

Howzit Dave? Good to see you posting. I like the design . . . how does it sound acoustically or is it specifically made to be amplified?

Thanks Kurt. I'm trying to get a recording of it. Unfortunately I'm a rank beginner player but I'm trying to get a decent recording of it soon. It's surprisingly loud and has very good sustain even though it is less than 2 inches deep.

Hey good! How you? I just got back from Maui last week. Enjoyed the warm winter winds. As I mentioned to Kurt above, I'm trying to get a good recording. This one has great tone and surprising volume for such a thin body. I'll post a sound clip when I can.

Dave

I've built a couple of archtops with a one-piece back and sides myself. I love the technique because you can do so much with the back

That is really cool. Love the contours of the back. I new of an archtop builder that use to make his body sides the same way. Carved out of a chunk of mohagany. Nice job.

I would think a one piece carved out back and side makeup would have to have a very well cured piece to start with, to avoid as much as possible cracks showing up later. But i guess that's important in every build anyway,......just seems even more so here. Too high a moisture content and you're in trouble. A thick piece of wood in starting means a LONG curing time if not kiln dried.

For sure a savings on side bending equipement, body forms while assembling, etc.