PDA

View Full Version : Wish me luck....

kirc
01-13-2012, 03:52 PM
Hi Everyone

Well this is my second post.... after 4 weeks of Ukulele playing, I have bought a starter Uke (nasty cheap thing - but got me going) then a decent nice Ohana SK-75. Then joined my local Uke Club.

Now.. I've gone and bought a Grizzly Kit - actually its not from Grizzly but is from a UK supplier. Its actually even less good than the kit Grizzly sell as its made from pine laminate rather than mahogany laminate, but its made by the same Japan company that Grizzly buy from.

Anyway it arrived this morning and I started building today. I don't expect to make a great instrument as I'm not very talented with my hands, but I shall do my best rather than just take an it'll do attitude.

Anyway when its finished I'll post a piccy - could be a while :D

pwcgecko
01-13-2012, 04:16 PM
Good luck.

itsme
01-13-2012, 04:50 PM
Even a kit build would seem daunting to me and I've been playing for a few years.

Good luck with it! Look forward to seeing your build pics. :)

kirc
01-14-2012, 07:10 AM
Cheers Guys....

Teek
01-14-2012, 08:36 AM
Very brave of you! Remember, measure twice, cut once, lol. On a kit I guess that's just the frets.. Best of luck.

Pete Beardsley
01-14-2012, 12:01 PM
Step by step pictures or we don't believe you! :p
Best of luck Kirc. Sounds like you have a bad case of UAS already. Is it one of the Amazon kits?

Ukuleleblues
01-14-2012, 12:17 PM
I made two of therse and the first on I put the bridge where the instructions said it should be and the intonation was off. The second one I moved it up like an 1/8 of in inch (longer stings) it sounds better. You can check it out at Stewart Mac for the a nice bridge placement calculator. http://www.stewmac.com/freeinfo/Reference/Calculators/i-fretcalc.html.

Hippie Dribble
01-14-2012, 07:15 PM
good luck brother kirc!!!!!!

kirc
01-15-2012, 07:04 AM
Thanks for the encouragement... oh and yes its from Amazon.