Would you pay more for a uke signed by Jake?

Would you pay more for a uke autographed by Jake?

• Total voters

Drew Bear

Reaction score
Or would you consider the uke less valuable? He seems to make an effort to autograph neatly and legibly. I was considering asking him to sign the back, upper bout just below and to the right of the neck (see bad photoshop'd image below).

Part of me agrees with Jake:
I’m like, “I can’t believe you want me to sign this beautiful ukulele.”
jake.jpg

There's no button for "I would never buy an autographed ukulele," but that's what I would vote.

I wouldn't pay more money for a uke signed by Jake. It would only have added value if it was personalized to me or if I had the experience of meeting him and getting him to sign it. For me, it's the memory of the experience that would be more important than the physical item signed. I have a lot of books signed by authors (I'm a librarian) and it is the memory of meeting the author and having a bit of a chat that mean so much more than just ink on a page.

Nix

I would not, signed Ukes really don't make a lot of sense to me, I would rather get something else signed, and keep a nice uke nice.

That being said, if I ever had a chance at a Uke signed by George Harrison, I would have to rethink my current stance.

There's no button for "I would never buy an autographed ukulele," but that's what I would vote.
Blast! I knew I would forget an important option. I don't see a way to edit the poll.

You probably fall into the third category. Surely you'd buy a Kanile'a tenor for $100 even if it had been autographed? Never is a long time. :) Then again, it's safe to say that we'll never see a functioning Kanile'a K-1 for anywhere close to $100.