Ukulele Method Book for Fingerstyle with Standard Notation

Tsani

Reaction score
I think I am asking for something that doesn't exist.

I am studying classical music on the uke with a classical guitar instructor. I want to learn standard notation so I can read music and make my own arrangements from classical guitar sheet music. He is asking me to find a "method book" that teaches how to play the ukulele in a fingerpick style by standard notation - not TAB.

Has anybody ever seen or heard of a book of this kind?

I do have a copy of the "cipher" or fingerboard chart for the uke - but that is really not what he wants me to have.

:anyone:

I think that's a book waiting to be written. However if you can read music it shouldn't be too difficult to transpose to uke fingering.

I think that's a book waiting to be written. However if you can read music it shouldn't be too difficult to transpose to uke fingering.

Well, I wish somebody would hurry up and write it! I know several people who are very qualified to do it. Rob McKillop, Jamie Holding, and Val Sauvage all come to mind. I bet Ken Middleton could do a pretty good job of it as well. Money just waiting to be picked up out there people! ;)

Money just waiting to be picked up out there people! ;)
Well, I tend to doubt it would be a big money maker because it'd be a double niche market. Classical ukers being one niche and classical ukers who want to learn from standard notation only being an even smaller sub-niche.

All of the classical uke books I've seen include tab along with standard notation.

This site has some teaching stuff in standard notation, but it's not classical focused.

http://www.ukuleleintheclassroom.com/index.htm