PDA

View Full Version : Ukulele out-of-tune on any frets

Osku
01-21-2012, 08:53 PM
Hello guys,

I'm a beginner with ukuleles. I have a problem that my GEWA Tennessee soprano is significantly out of tune on any frets. Every open string is in tune and stays so pretty well, but when I play any fret - the note isn't right. My tuner shows values between +20 and +30 too high, which is something like 1/4-1/8 steps I suppose? Anyway. It sounds really wrong, even my bad ears can tell it... :/

On the other hand. I have also another ukulele, which is made of totally shitty materials and parts (and costs only fourth of the GEWA)- but it's perfectly in tune on all frets, the strings feel softer and also has a smoother sound at high notes. I have to mention that this one was already "pre-tuned and stretched" in the shop, while the GEWA was taken out of its cardboard box and had very loose strings as how it probably left the factory.

I'm aware it's been less than week when I bought the GEWA, but I've tuned it few times every day and tried my best to stretch the strings by hand. It already stays in tune (@ open strings) quite well.

Could this all out-of-tune-on-frets have something to do with bad neck angle, faulty fretting, a manufacturing mistake or so? Should I take it back to the shop or let it be for sometime and wish it to settle down by itself? Any other advices?

Thanks for you help in advance. :)

Osku

Ground Loop
01-21-2012, 09:19 PM
Hi Osku! You posted in the Beginners forum, so I figure a fellow newb can chime in ... :)
I just wanted to say that both of my cheap ukulele's (Sunlite and Mahalo) have this exact same problem.

The nut is way too high. The first fret is the worst, and it improves as you go down. Most of the chords are using the top two frets, so they all sound pretty crummy.