Do you play by "note" rather than tab?

hibiscus

Reaction score
My eye sight isn't the greatest, and I can't see the tab numbers on most music. (Ukulele Mike's is nice and large!) I've been playing the piano and several other instruments for over 50 years, so learning the notes on the ukulele isn't all that difficult for me. I was just wondering how many of you play by note.
Thanks!

Last edited:
I do a bit of both - I'm not a great sight-reader but I think it's a good skill to have and am trying to get better at it.

I've got terrible vision and have started having trouble with tab numbers often being too small. Sometimes switching from my distance to my reading glasses helps, but I'm at the point where I'm considering scanning my music and printing it out a bit larger just to make things easier to see!

Makes me wonder if there's a market for large-print editions of uke tab books :)

Well, I used to. Now, with the prevalence of tabs (not available 50 yrs ago when I was a lass) I am finding they ARE easier. It took a week but after a while I mix the notes above with the tabs below. Sad to say, this is going to ruin my scale and note reading on strings.

It's much easier for me to just sight read the notes. Most folks love the tabs but they just confuse me. I think it's cause of the years playing a piano. It is a bit harder going from soprano to tenor. Sort of like a stretched out piano with big keys.

Thank you for your replies. I hope I can do both, AND I wish the tab numbers were larger!

I hate tabs.

When you can read music and speak the language of music, then there's no one you can't jam with. No style you can't at least do a passable job with. There's no song you can't figure out for yourself. As you learn songs, you teach yourself theory and get better at the instrument all at the same time.