New uke on the way

BasicUke

Reaction score
Short version: Got a Kala KA-TG on the way and it should be here Wednesday!

Long Version: My daughter was dying to learn to play the guitar. I played trombone and tuba in school (AGES AGO) so I could read music but couldn't teach her guitar! I bought her a good used guitar and we went to Guitar Center to get some picks.

In the check out line, I pointed to the Ukes and told her I always wanted to learn to play the uke. She talked me into buying a $18 Hilo Soprano uke.

I got busy and it sat for about 3 months, then my 86 year old grandfather visited and brought his mandolin. He and my daughter played a little together. I though, "How freakin' cool is that!? She gets to play with her GREAT GRANDFATHER!!" I decided I wanted to get in on this too.

I picked up the Hilo and have practiced every day since. After playing for about 3 weeks, I got a Christmas gift from the wife, a LU-21S! I was stoked. I started playing it daily and then noticed a buzz on the A string anytime and then on E string when I used the second fret. As it was new, I sent it back to whence it came.... AMAZON. I figured since it was Amazon and I got to pick, I would go with a tenor as I love the sound.

It was between the LU-21T and the Kala KA-TG. I just love the glossy look. I researched here on UU and everyone seemed to agree that they both were decent, so I pulled the trigger on the Kala.

I am still playing the Hilo (Penny). I have a set of strings on order for her, but I don't know how much she'll make it out of the gig bag after the Kala gets here.

I did, however, almost buy a LU-21P Pineapple off Craigslist today. I don't need it so I threw the guy a low-ball and told him if he couldn't get rid of it, call me.

Thanks for listening!!

Jim

Congrats! :smileybounce:

I have a Ohana SK-15 in maroon that was supposed to arrive today but didn't. :( Maybe tomorrow ....

Congratulations... waiting is hard, isn't it?