It's been three whole years.

lorrinhiggins

Reaction score
I started playing ukulele on Christmas day, playing "Somewhere Over the Rainbow" on my brand new Kala pineapple ukulele on speaker for the entire family get-together while my cousin sang along on a microphone.

It's been three years since then, and one new ukulele has been bought (concert Oscar Schmidt), a capo, plenty of chord books and no new strings (knock on wood), and I couldn't imagine my life without a uke.

How long has everyone else been playing?

Oh, my family knows it's not a fad for me.
I've even gotten a couple of old high school friends into it, and given some lessons.

You should change those strings. Just sayin. Probably make your uke sounds brand new again (or even better). BTW, since June 2011.

Last edited:
Short answer, since April 2010 plus about 3 months.

Received a soprano Hohner as a Xmas present in 2009, played it for several months and even wore into the neck on the first two frets. The tuning is a nightmare though. Had the action lowered by having a luthier cut a deeper groove in the nut for each string, but it's still a nightmare for tuning. Opened strings are in tune, and playing all strings down sounds fine, but mix an open string with a fretted string and ... ouch. Almost seems like the string is resting on the far side of the nut, as if there is too much space between the nut and first fret.