Anyone with really old strings?

mr moonlight

Reaction score
So I'm moving in about a week and as I'm going through all my stuff I unearthed a new set of Aquila Tenor strings. A full standard set plus a low G. I don't use Aquilas anymore so I figured I'll give them away to a needy soul. So if you want them, reply to this thread with the age of your uke strings. Whoever has the oldest set of strings when I check back on this thread (it will be some random time today) gets the strings.

Only in the U.S. please... and no cheatin!:p

Well, I could use them, but my string aren't old, since I just started playing. My uke has Aquilas, and I like them, so when I need to replace them I'll stay with Aquilas. If you want to get rid of them and no one else speaks up who needs strings now, I'd be more than happy to take them off your hands.

Whaaaa??? No one needs a set of Aquilas?

My shoe strings are over 5 years old, does that count?

Whaaaa??? No one needs a set of Aquilas?

There seems to be less traffic in the forums during the workday (in U.S.time zones), and even less traffic on Fridays. You may get a flurry of responses later this evening. Also, your heading doesn't really indicate that you're giving something away. I have some old-ish strings, but I'm going to opt out of this giveaway, as I already have a bunch of replacement strings and so, at least on the issue of strings, I don't really qualify as a "needy soul."

Mahalo for your generosity and aloha spirit!

I have 3-year-old strings on at least two ukes. They sound fine. I have 6-month-old strings on one and it sounds worse than it did with the old ones.

My shoe strings are over 5 years old, does that count?

I didn't really specify did I. Hmmmmm. So if you need a set of Aquilas, they're yours. Otherwise they go to our second oldest set of strings owned by micahlele!

Too bad iChadwick you're in Canada. Don't have enough extra stamps for the postage.