A small dilema...

MadMatt

Reaction score
I sent my Ortega Tenor back yesterday because the intonation was not correctly. Now I am Uke less.

I am now thinking of a Kala ASAC-T as that seems to be the go-to beginner tenor from what I have read here. Ok sounds like my problem is solved... *sigh* now if only life was that simple ;)

The problem is that I have the opportunity to get a Kanile'a Deluxe K-1 Tenor at a reasonable price that I can afford (I sold a few Basses recently). I live in Germany and there are not many Kanile'a's (Or any other island brands for that matter) on the Market here. Now bear in mind I am a beginner so this is where my dilemma starts...

I know the Kala is more than enough Uke for my level of playing... and I like the looks of it... but then there is the sexy Kanile'a that I cant get out of my head... I am really afraid I will regret passing it up. I have not played it yet (I do that on Tuesday) but I am wondering if it would be insane for getting the Kanile'a even though I am still struggling with tangled and sore fingers. :eek:

I am 43 and will probably never be able to play to the Kanile'a's abilities.

Your help is appreciated.

-M@

Last edited:
Don't be silly--43 is young. I'm 20 yrs older than you and embarking on playing again after decades. I'm not worried. If the Kanile'a is really at a good price, buy it. You can always sell it, and meanwhile it will be an inspiration to keep at it.

I'm 10 years older than you and I am just starting on the uke, too!

My advice? Got the one that you want. They always say to get the best instrument you can afford. If you play it on Tuesday and love it, grab it! You deserve a nice instrument to play on! (When my old $100 upright piano died, I debated getting a baby grand. I had always wanted one. I am not a great pianist but I knew I would never get another piano. So, I made payments and bought it. I have never regretted buying it. I am not a baby grand worthy pianist, but I love it.)