G Chord fingering

scason

Reaction score
Hi all,

Enthusiastic newbie here and I have a question. For some reason my fingers don't what to form a G chord in the normal way. Mine want to form it with the index finger on 1st string-2nd fret, ring finger 2nd string-3rd fret and middle finger 3rd string-2nd fret. I know it's not right but I can do it sooo natural and comfortably. Will this cause me problems down the line in my ukulele education? I don' want to start any bad habits. Thanks for any help. This place is great!

I think as you progress you'll notice that certain fingerings make it easier or harder to get to the NEXT chord in the song. And you'll start choosing fingering patterns that favor natural and comfortable chord transitions.

But until you get to that point I would say don't sweat it.

Remember that G can also be played as 4232

bar your pointer finger across the 2nd fret. middle finger on 2nd string 3rd fret. ring finger on 4th string 4th fret

The main issue is usually the ease with which you can change to the other chords required in the song you are playing. Try some songs in G and see what problems you encounter. Its also good to be able to finger chords in different ways as you will get some advantages for certain songs. If it works thats whats important.

Hi all,

Enthusiastic newbie here and I have a question. For some reason my fingers don't what to form a G chord in the normal way. Mine want to form it with the index finger on 1st string-2nd fret, ring finger 2nd string-3rd fret and middle finger 3rd string-2nd fret. I know it's not right but I can do it sooo natural and comfortably. Will this cause me problems down the line in my ukulele education? I don' want to start any bad habits. Thanks for any help. This place is great!

I form my G's like that as it's how I was taught to do it, so for me it's the "normal" way. The other way just seems bizarre and clunky to me.