Fingers falling asleep...

Bob Bledsoe

Reaction score
Is this a common problem? The last couple weeks I've been having issues on my fretting hand that seem like carpal tunnel. I've never experienced that before but from what I've read, thumb and first three fingers falling asleep has to do with that carpal tunnel nerve. I've been working on a few difficult pieces with a bunch of new fingering, so I'm spending time pressing too hard (until I realize and lighten up for a minute or two).

Got myself a wrist brace which seems to help. Took a couple days off and it got better, but then I started learning The Unknown and it's back ;-)

Wondering if this could just be a one time injury - in hope that I don't have carpal tunnel. Has this happened to anyone else? What do you do for it?

I'll have the pinky and nearest two go numb on my fretting hand, but that is due to a nerve being aggravated in my spine around my neck in my neck. I see a chiropractor for that. You can look up carpal tunnel on the net and do some of the stretch exercises they talk about. Also a squeeze ball might help strengthen the hand.

Bob, I don't have any answers to your questions, but I would suggest you reduce your uke playing time considerably. Those symptoms do not sound common. I wouldn't want to risk permanent injury. Best to visit your doctor.

Thanks for the input guys. I'm taking it easy for now. If it persists I'll see a doctor. Right now I'm treating it like most people treat a carpal tunnel flair up and that seems to be working... It's forcing me to play less uke and get more work done. ;-)

I would say the key words mentioned above would be DOCTOR. The Ukulele is extremely...and notably, easy on the wrist and hands- I would say that if you are experiencing symptoms, there is probably some other part of your life that is causing the bulk of the problem- hope it sorts itself out