teaching a total beginner

let's say you're teaching someone who knows nothing about music or uke.

What's the first things you teach them?

A few notes? A few chords? An easy song?

If so, which song?

On the DVD "The Mighty Uke" there is a trailor where James Hill gives your first ukulele lesson.
I have found it to be the first lesson I give.
1. How to tune and play notes.
2. F & C chords.
3. Play & sing "Everybody Loves Saturday Night"

I do many beginner workshops, everyone walks out able to play and sing a song.

i show a few examples of 2-3 chord songs, then ask what kind of music would the begginer like to learn.
it is very important to catch the students atention, let him emjoy his firsts steps, this is a bit easier if the song is already recorded in the brain n is liked.

I, personally, think the most important things to know as a beginner are the parts of the intrument, how it works, and how to properly hold and play it. With this foundation, I feel that it's easier to comprehend what you're supposed to be doing. Creating "bad" playing habits may make things more difficult in the long run.

Tuning. I am very picky when it comes to tuning. I believe that every musician should know how to properly tune their instrument by ear. I can not stand hearing someone play even slightly out of tune. To me, it makes your skill level look...less than perfect, to be nice. Knowing when you're out of tune is a great, simple skill. Knowing how to quickly get in tune quickly is priceless to me.

After that, how to read and play basic chords and have smooth chord transitions (for stringed instruments). Since I can't read music 100%, I would then move on to reading tabulature.

I have taught a handful of people guitar, and have had great results. Most importantly, have fun with it.

i show a few examples of 2-3 chord songs, then ask what kind of music would the begginer like to learn.