Most sympathetic top wood for zebrawood uke?

H

Hippie Dribble

hi everyone. don't mean to bust in on this board as I have zero knowledge to share, but I do have a question I hope you can help me with...

I'm having a tenor uke built with zebrawood back and sides. My question is: what top wood do you suggest that would work the best tonally. My understanding is that zebrawood is on the 'bright' side...

Cedar? Spruce? Something left field? What about the possibility of using zebrawood for the top as well?

Thanks guys for any assistance you can give here.

hi everyone. don't mean to bust in on this board as I have zero knowledge to share, but I do have a question I hope you can help me with...

I'm having a tenor uke built with zebrawood back and sides. My question is: what top wood do you suggest that would work the best tonally. My understanding is that zebrawood is on the 'bright' side...

Cedar? Spruce? Something left field? What about the possibility of using zebrawood for the top as well?

Thanks guys for any assistance you can give here.

G'day Mate!

Redwood/Sinker Redwood sounds great ... but, it probably would clash with Zebra wood aesthetically.

This is a question best suited for your builder. That's what you're paying him for. His experience with the way he works with the woods you mentioned will give you your best answer.

BTW, if one of my customers were asking me the same question using koa as the back and sides, I would suggest that spruce is brighter than cedar, which is known for a warmer tone. Both will give you very good volume. But I'm no expert, I've only used these woods one a couple of dozen ukes.

It depends on the sound you want. If you want a brighter sound I would go with Spruce But if your after a little warmer sound defiantly cedar and I think redwood would be a little warmer then the cedar
Thats just my:2cents: Good luck on the new one

Last edited:
G'day Mate!