Truss Rods?

AlaskaTheo

Reaction score
Hello,
I'm just starting out with ukulele building, and have a few in the works, none finished, just an accumulating pile of both useable and unusable pieces. I may be taking a backwards approach but I'm now getting to some necks for both soprano and tenor ukes. I've made my soundboards with rosettes, backs, bent sides, cut pieces for bracing, made kerfed strips, and cut my first fret board the other day.

Somewhere along the way I got the impression that maybe I might not need to worry about truss rods given the short neck and lower tension of a ukulele. However, after reading through some threads on this forum, I'm left to reconsider, especially now that I am getting to the point that I need to make that decision. Do I need them? If so what kind and where should I get them? I dont see them marketed for ukes

I imagine that it might be based somewhat on wood type as well as other factors I'm probably not considering. For necks as well as backs and sides I'm using purple heart, walnut, and Alaskan birch (this may be a poor choice but I cut and mill it myself)(for seperate ukes not mixed) . The purple heart I picked up a while back on a whim and the walnut was leftover from some other projects. Once I figure this out I'll invest in better wood.

As far as the rest of the wood, white spruce soundboards (resawawn by me from a local mill), ebony, brazillian cherry, and purple heart? for fret boards. The ebony I picked up when I was a teenager (probably 20 years ago) and have waited for the day I would begin my instrument building, The Brazillian cherry was left in my shop by a freind, and my daughter wants a uke that is all purple. Not that these should matter for the truss question, just to let you know what I'm up to. I pretty excited about the whole thing.

and by the way, thanks to all. I have been reading posts for a little while now and love the forum.

Thanks,