Radius: Tops & Backs-Random Numbers, Designed Ratios?

agilitydog

Reaction score
My hope is that the title of this post suggests that I've pored over everything I can find on this forum related to this subject and that I'm trying to better understand the thinking behind building choices.

I know that Pete has reported using 22/12; Chuck, 25/15; Dom, 20/10 (http://www.ukuleleunderground.com/f...kulele-Radius-Dish(s)-what-s-your-preference).

Then there's Ken and Pete's Discussion of a Martin style "O" soprano- 5'2" or boat curve (http://www.ukuleleunderground.com/forum/showthread.php?49251-Another-Radius-Dish-required)

Discussions in general focus on structural integrity with reference to shrinkage/humidity, forces acting on the bridge and top, and by general reference to stiffness and plate thickness and bracing pattern. (Forgive the incomplete lists, I'm a real beginner).

Here's what I'm asking the Pros: Why did you pick the radius numbers you use? How is the ratio of top to back radius used in your design thinking? Finally, how does the position of the radius "pole" factor into your design--under the bridge for the top? Different for the back?

My questions were stimulated by Ken Timms remark sometime ago about radically changing radius "depending" and my reading of David Hurd's works. Apologies to both of you for distortion or simplification.

If radiusing is "free stiffness" then it seems that it's a significant variable that, like bracing, effects sound as well as structure. What is your experience?

25/15 but don't over intellectualize this. Make some, decide what you like for your style and sound. It's too easy to spend too much time thinking and not enough time doing, especially when you're new to the craft.