Not sure to restore a vintage Kamaka or not

UkuleleAdventure

Reaction score
I'm considering buying a vintage Kamaka from 1918-1920, and it has a lot of cosmetic wear and a big crack/hole in the lower bout. I'm not sure if I should have Kamaka restore this uke, or leave it the way it is. If I was to restore it, would it hurt the value, or improve it? Comment with answers.
Thanks,
Kyle

I'm considering buying a vintage Kamaka from 1918-1920, and it has a lot of cosmetic wear and a big crack/hole in the lower bout. I'm not sure if I should have Kamaka restore this uke, or leave it the way it is. If I was to restore it, would it hurt the value, or improve it? Comment with answers.
Thanks,
Kyle

I'm not an expert. But restoration typically is the way to go UNLESS restoring it takes away the thing that made it special.

For instance if you had vintage Kamaka that Don Ho himself had scratched his name into. You may not want to remove his name. His name and the story of how it got there is part of what makes that particular uke remarkable.

But if restoration takes an unplayable instrument and makes it playable. I think that's generally a good thing.

I would definitely instruct Kamaka to keep everything as original as possible. As far as I know of, there is no historical value to it.

Generally, refinishing or even over spraying devalue a vintage ukulele to collectors. You probably don't want to do that unless it is absolutely necessary, i.e., the finish is cracking off or is worn through to the extent that the wood is unprotected. You do want to repair cracks and holes. That will probably increase the value over its present condition if for no other reason that someone buying will have to pay to make the repairs. I agree that having Kamaka do the work is likely to both ensure that it is kept as original as possible and that it remains a "Kamaka," i.e., save the receipt.

Good luck with your ukulele.