Tutorial Videos

Snuz

Reaction score
I'm like a zero beginner here and I'm trying to use some of videos on youtube to learn, but I find a song that I like and whoever's doing the video goes really fast through some important parts that I can't understand. So I find another video and this guy is doing it totally different, but he skips some really important parts too anyway. AHHHGGGG! Super frustrated! Any suggestions on how go about learning???

The UU+ videos online here at Ukulele Underground are done well. They offer a trial of 2 weeks so you can see if they suit your purposes.

AB

I have the same problem--thinking of UU plus, but I find right now, the books and cd combo are working for me. I'm working through Fingerstyles which has you do progressive studies. I stayed the first three weeks on horrible little "Twinkle Twinkle" worst thing Mozart ever wrote, and then did the variant (arpeggio style.) After than, I'm onto Ku'u Morning Dew and I'm staying on that until I can play it smoothly. I ordered a copy of Rob MacKillop's progressive finger studies but I don't know how this book will work out. However, I like books and CD as I can listen, then prop up the book on the music stand and play. Eventually, I memorize the notes and can concentrate on the fingering. I find watching a video sometimes is difficult to keep up with.

I just picked up Ukulele for Dummies (book plus CD). It covers all the way from basic strumming through fingerpicking to different genres/styles. I think it will serve as a good textbook for a couple years of learning for me. I might pick up the Fingerstyles book too.

Edit: the OP was looking for video instruction. I like Ukulele Mike's.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2CO7zryA668&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL
I find he goes slowly and clearly enough for me to follow along. I agree some videos are way too rushed and the camera angle used doesn't show hand position clearly, etc.

Jim B

Last edited: