Testing the Fishman Matrix Infinity pickup system

Ken Middleton

Reaction score
Here's a video I did to check out how the Fishman Matrix sounds. I recently installed it on an Ohana TK-35CG. The tone and volume controls are just under the top of the sound hole.

Here's my opinion. I would be interested in what other people think:

PROS

1. Great sound
2. Balanced and clear
3. Easy to install
4. Good value for money
5. Responsive tone and volume controls

CONS

1. Battery makes it heavy
2. Bulky, so it does affect the acoustic tone
3. Cables too long for any uke

Not a system to use on a very light-bodied uke. You must remove the battery completely when travelling, particularly on an aircraft, as it can easily come loose and cause devastation to the innards of your uke. However, Fishman have been in the business so long that they have very much got it right, as far as sound quality is concerned.

I started playing, with the intention of just recording the song "Old Folks At Home", but a few other tunes got tagged on the end. There's "Smash The Windows', the intro to "Feeling Groovy" and a little bit of "Annie's Song". I also play a few bars of Edelweiss, but forget how it goes and completely lost it.

That was excellent, Ken. Strictly through the Fishman, with no external mic?

And when you say "easy to install", did you do the drilling yourself, or have it done?

What I've never liked with my amplified ukes is how much extraneous sound is picked up (the squeaking of the strings, for example, or inadvertent tapping on the soundboard). That I heard none of that in your recording I attribute to superior technique. Am I right, or do I have lousy pickup systems?

-Kurt​

That was excellent, Ken. Strictly through the Fishman, with no external mic?

And when you say "easy to install", did you do the drilling yourself, or have it done?