PDA

View Full Version : Which Concert Ukulele is better?

jazperanza
02-10-2012, 04:47 AM
I'm stuck between the Makala Concert MK C, Brunswick Mahogany Concert Uke or the Samick Greg Bennett UK-50 Concert Ukulele.

This is partly because there isn't much information about the last two. Is the Samick solid wood? Which is overall the best make?

I'm a beginner, but want something that I can use for ages, without having to buy a more expensive, higher-end uke. My budget is up to 60.

Thank you :) x

Also, just heard of the Oscar Shmidt OU2... is that a contender also?

Kayak Jim
02-10-2012, 05:01 AM
Well I'm no expert but of the three (make that four), I'd go with the Makala. Never heard of Brunswick or Samick and Makala has a very good reputation as a starter.

Jim B

bbycrts
02-10-2012, 05:18 AM
Doubt you're going to find solid wood at that price point. Makala is a solid beginners' instrument. I wouldn't be too surprised if the Samick and Greg Bennett come from the same place and just have different labels. Those two, along with the Oscar Schmidt, are probably equivalent. I think Oscar Schmidt ukes look great - people often comment on how heavily built they are - which means sturdy but perhaps not as good a sound as if they were lighter.

DaveVisi
02-10-2012, 05:19 AM
Samick is one of the generic Indonesian factory builders, which also make a wide range of instruments including pianos under many names including the above mentioned Greg Bennett. At that price they're most certainly plywood construction. I'd stick with Makala.

stevepetergal
02-10-2012, 05:46 AM
I agree with bbycrts. You will be hard-pressed to find a solid in this price range. I have played all four of these models, and think of the Oscar Schmidt as the only musical instrument in the group.

jazperanza
02-10-2012, 07:04 AM
Thanks everyone for replying...

I know for a fact that the Brunswick is solid mahogany. But I know nothing else about the make.

Samick I'm dubious about.