Playing in front of others?

Adobohobo

Reaction score
Hey guys,

So I am still a beginner, probably only on my 3rd week of playing. I think I sound pretty OK (got some parts of some scales down fluently, chord transitions are smooth for the most part, I <hopefully> don't sound like a toddler tearing apart a piano...) but I still am nowhere near a level where I feel confident enough to play in front of others (I also am an extremely shy person).

Today however, I brought my uke in public for the first time. It was at this awesome restaurant in Islamorada, the Islamorada Fish Co. They had this nice little sitting area doubling as a dock/mini beach, and I just chilled in a chair and played around.

Suddenly, someone saw me and asked what kind of guitar was that (lol silly) and my mom and I told them it was a ukulele. They were intrigued and asked me to play. Now, I knew they weren't too versed in what sounds good on a uke and what doesnt, and like someone here on UU said, it's easy to get away with playing a not-so-impressive song on the Uke vs a guitar.

I was just too shy and too uncomfortable with my abilities to play. I don't know any -complete- songs that are impressive (ie: Guitar Gently Weeps, On to california, Staten Island Slide, Stairway to Heaven, etc, fingerpicking stuff) enough, and playing a few chords seemed to basic to fulfill their request...

So yeah, I still won't play anything for anyone outside of my immediate family, who has to bear with my 24/7 uke-ing. I wanted to know when exactly you guys who have played in front of others have felt confident enough to (just so I can gauge where I am at in terms of development). For me, when I learn any of those impressive songs I mentioned, that'll be my 'pocket-song' for emergency mini-concerts like that lol.

Last edited: