Lowered my action today

Kayak Jim

Reaction score
Well I went ahead and lowered the action on my Kala soprano today. It wasn't bad right from the factory (~1 mm at the nut, 3 mm at 12th) but I wanted to try it. I'm a woodworker so wasn't too concerned about getting in over my head. And my playing can use all the help it can get.

Debated about filing down the whole nut or just individual string slots. Went with the whole nut approach since I could easily reverse it by gluing in a shim. I basically followed this video http://reyalpeleluku.wordpress.com/...video-how-i-adjust-the-action-on-a-cheap-uke/ except instead of marking with a pen, I put masking tape at the depth I wanted to remove. Reglued the nut in place with two small dab of yellow glue.

Then to the bridge, planning to shave it down as I did the nut but found there was a 1.5 mm shim under it which I simply removed.

Now I'm at about 0.7 at the nut and 2 mm at 12th fret. No buzzing (except through operator error!) and a bit easier to play.

So it was easy to do, I'm happy with the results but I would go for the pro set up when I get beyond an entry level uke.

Jim B

I tryed it at Christmas to make a Hilo more payable. I figured if I screw up there are replacement nuts and saddles available. I was nervous about having some of the paint on the headstock flake off so I took an exacto and scored along the base of the nut. It worked great, isn't that tough if you follow the vid and makes a uke alot more fun to play.

Interesting that it had a 1.5mm shim at the bridge already. I wonder was this part of the setup in the factory, or do they put that shim in all their bridges?

Interesting that it had a 1.5mm shim at the bridge already. I wonder was this part of the setup in the factory, or do they put that shim in all their bridges?