New Covered Bridge

jwieties

Reaction score
I started playing ukulele this past Sept. I've played acoustic guitar for sometime and have owned a fair number of quality guitars including Martin's, Taylors, Gibsons, Larrivees and Nationals. I've also played many high quality hand builds by well known luthiers. For the past couple years I've hardly touched the guitar... certainly have made no progress in my playing. Picking up the ukulele has again made me excited about playing music. Can't get enough of this little instrument. After catching ukulele fever, I knew it would not be long before picking up a nice hand built. I was never a good enough guitar player to drop $4 grand or more on a luthier built guitar. However, There are so many really amazing ukuleles out there at such reasonable prices.

So.... I am now the very lucky owner of the first Covered Bridge Concert. Just arrived today and I am absolutely thrilled with it. I have a couple hours of playing time and here's my initially impressions.

First, I've never judged an acoustic instrument by how it sounds There are other factors, which I find when present, the tone falls into place. It basically boils down to how it feels. An instrument has to jump to life when played and this uke delivers. It is so responsive and expressive. It is feather light, so much so that I would have guessed that the box was empty when it was delivered. Another factor regarding feel is playability. The action is right in the sweet spot. Not to low, so you can really dig in, but low enough to play smooth and effortless.